Honoring Contributions to Perfumer Societies & Perfumery

The 2014 World Perfumery Congress (WPC) celebrated perfumery and the perfumers, in addition to hosting the first meeting of global perfumery societies, which included the Société Française des Parfumeurs (SFP), Deutsche Gesellschaft der Parfümeure in der SEPAWA (DGP), British Society of Perfumers (BSP) and American Society of Perfumers (ASP).

On the closing day of the conference, the ASP and SFP presented their awards, which recognized achievements in fragrance creation and devotion to service.

First, Sylvie Jourdet (president of the SFP; Créassence), Maurice Roucel (SFP; Symrise), and Patrick de Vilmorin (SFP; Firmenich) introduced the winner of the Prix International du Parfumeur Créateur 2014. The award honors perfumers 35 years old and younger, who are encouraged to freely express their creativity.

Designed by Chanel, the trophy symbolized the dedication and perseverance required to create great fragrances, Vilmorin noted, as well as the complexity, richness and uniqueness of fragrance.

This year's winner was Alice Lavenat, junior perfumer with Jean Niel. Her fragrance was selected following two jury reviews, one of which was technical, comprising perfumers and evaluators, and a second, which evaluated the scent submissions on an artistic level "from the point of view of the customer." All scents were built around *bourgeons de cassis* (blackcurrant buds) absolute.

Next, Chris Diienno (president of ASP; drom) presented the 2014 William Lambert Award to Jim Fassold (financial administrator of ASP; Robertet). Diienno called Fassold "a man you can count on."

Diienno continued, "He can keep a confidence, and can find common ground with anyone. In Jim's mind, difficult personalities are just challenges to be won over. He is generous with his time and knowledge and always has an open door to a colleague who needs financial advice or otherwise."

Finally, in honor of its 50th anniversary, the BSP launched "British Perfumery—A Fragrant History" (*www.bsp.org.uk/bspbook-2/*) and presented it at the *WPC*. The book is a celebration of British perfumery past and present, inviting readers to share personal stories and experiences of the many perfumers who, over the years, have made British perfumery as full of creativity and talent as it is today.



From left: Sylvie Jourdet (president of the SFP; Créassence); Maurice Roucel (SFP; Symrise); Prix International du Parfumeur Créateur 2014 winner, Alice Lavenat (Jean Niel); and Patrick de Vilmorin (SFP; Firmenich).



From left: Jim Fassold (ASP; Robertet), recipient of the William Lambert Award, and Chris Diienno (ASP president; drom).

p&f

This conversation brought to you by:

